Teams

This is a list of all current teams with a short description.

Additional pictures of the team are visible in the Pictures tab

Cool Air-Clean Planet (CA-CP)
Ella Stoneellas@mtu.edu
Claire Christenchchrist@mtu.edu
The CA-CP team is responsible for gathering and analyzing data determining the official Greenhouse Gas (GHG) inventory and subsequent carbon footprint for Michigan Tech annually. The first annual footprint was calculated for the fiscal year 2008 and resulted in the formation of the Green Campus Enterprise. Data utilized in determining the GHG inventory includes various sources both directly on Michigan Tech property and outside sources. Data includes such aspects as energy (gas, propane, electricity), fertilizers and refrigerants, solid waste, as well as commuting associated with the university via car and airplane. The results from determining the carbon footprint can help to elucidate high sources of GHG emissions and potential areas where reduction can be achieved.
Location Based Results
Steam Back-Pressure Turbine
Trevor Brandttjbrandt@mtu.edu
Syd Mukavetzsmukavet@mtu.edu
The steam back-pressure turbine team is determining the feasibility of several different steam back-pressure turbines to be used in the steam distribution system on campus. This system would replace existing pressure-reducing valves with a turbine that will generate electricity while still reducing the pressure. The team is performing financial and feasibility analyses for several turbine variations to determine which would be optimal.
Daylighting
Michelle Bollinimsbollin@mtu.edu
Drew Eatonaneaton@mtu.edu
The goal of the daylighting team is to identify and analyze areas on campus where lighting controls could be installed to save energy. The areas we are most interested in are areas where lights could be turned off during the day because there is enough light from the windows and areas where lights can be turned off at night because there is no one using the area.
Tiny House Build
Lexi Stevealsteve@mtu.edu
Carolyn LaDukeckladuke@mtu.edu
Leena Rawashdehlnrawash@mtu.edu
Sierra Braunsrbraun@mtu.edu
John Zimelisjjzimeli@mtu.edu
Nick Kampfschultenckampfs@mtu.edu
The Tiny House Build Team has been tasked with designing and building a tiny house as a sponsorship with Paul Sanders on a property in Bete Grise off of Lake Superior.

The Tiny House Build project began with a goal of designing a sustainable and affordable tiny house for cold climates, like in the Upper Peninsula, to provide a model for green, energy-efficient housing. The team began researching and developing innovative solutions for making common building practices more sustainable, in addition to modeling thermal and energy performance of the team’s preliminary tiny house designs. Once the best option was modeled, students worked directly with the client to create construction drawings to bring the house from an idea to reality. Currently, the team is constructing sections of the tiny house on campus. When complete, they will be installed on the client’s property, where the house will be fully finished and move-in ready. Finally, the team will conduct testing to determine the success of the chosen design in terms of energy-efficiency and thermal performance.
Combined Heat and Power Co-Generation
Julia Jenawayjkjenawa@mtu.edu
Brian Goldbergbmgoldbe@mtu.edu
The Co-generation team is investigating and designing an alternative energy generation for the whole university. Right now the school’s heat and hot water comes from natural gas heated by boilers to create steam. The steam then runs through pipes that lead directly to each building. In order to make this process more efficient, this team will be designing a type of engine or turbine that will be able to take that waste heat from the steam generation and create energy that will provide electricity to campus
Campus Culture
Sabrina Nystrom slnystro@mtu.edu
Monica Heirmanmjheirma@mtu.edu
The overall goal of the Campus Culture Team is to move the culture of Michigan Tech’s campus in the direction of increased sustainability. We are currently in the process of creating a campus hall energy usage competition. Along with the energy competition, we also manage sustainability communication such as green tips, events, social media, and signage.

In the past we’ve hosted Green Talk events, as well as working within the enterprise to gather information and put together a broad sustainability profile of the school.